Scotland's Finest Woods Awards

Scotland's Finest Woods Awards 2014 are organised by Scottish Finest Woods to highlight good wood management practices and to showcase how woods and forests contribute to the health and wellbeing of Scotland’s people.

There are Four award categories and £6,750 of prize money available:

Community Woodlands Award 

Community-based projects are invited to compete for this Scotland-wide award with two competitions. The Tim Stead Trophy and £2,000 of prize money are up for grabs:

  • Enter projects with a 'health and wellbeing' focus for the healthy lifestyles competition.
  • Enter projects with an 'economic development and regeneration' focus for the viable livelihoods competition.

New Native Woods Award

New native woodland projects are invited to compete for this award: the Woodland Trust Scotland Trophy and £1,000 are there to be won.

Quality Timber Awards

Focusing on growing quality timber, woodland owners are invited to compete in our three competitions with three trophies and £3,000 of prize money at stake:

  • Enter small woods, a single stand or compartment of trees where exemplary silviculture results in high quality timber production and compete for £1,000 and the Hunter Blair Trophy.
  • Enter whole estates managed as multi-purpose forests in which high quality timber production is a major objective and compete for £1,000 and the John Kennedy Trophy.
  • Enter new commercial woodlands and compete for £1,000 and the James Jones Trophy.

Schools Award 

Schools and pre-school projects can enter this ever-popular award. We are seeking out Scotland's most fun-packed school woodland projects with £750 of prize money to be won.

Closing date for entries is 31 March 2014. For more information please visit Scotland Finest Woods Awards website